Announcement from Facebook Verification Team – Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012 – Facts Analysis


Picture about: Announcement from Facebook Verification Team - Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012
Announcement from Facebook Verification Team - Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012

Story:

Warning: Announcement from Facebook Verification Team. All Facebook Profiles Must Be Verified Before 10th June 2012 To Avoid Scams and Scams Under SOPA Act. The Unverified Accounts Will Be Terminated.
Verify Your Accounts By Below Steps
Step 1: click here to verify

Final Step click Below: complete Verification 

Picture about: Announcement from Facebook Verification Team - Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012
Announcement from Facebook Verification Team – Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012
Picture about: Announcement from Facebook Verification Team - Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012
Announcement from Facebook Verification Team – Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012

Analysis:

This facebook warning to verify your Facebook account claims to come from official Facebook verification team in the form of a facebook application that shows couple of steps to verify your facebook account.
STEP 1: click here to verify

When clicked, official Facebook warning pops up to show that this app will receive your basic information and location and permission to post on your Facebook profile. After logging in, the app asks to ” Verify Your Account By Inviting Your Friends. Please Finish This Verification to keep your accounts safe.” If you cancel the request, a pop up comes up saying ” The page at amazingvideoz.com says – You Must Invite Friends To Proove that you are not a bot.” This proves that the app could be related to amazingvideoz spamming.

Final Step click Below: complete Verification

When clicked, the app leads to surveys to verify your account, claiming that you will not complete your verification until you complete the surveys.

Also, the Facebook app asks for age verification in between, which when clicked leads to third party sites like dating. Even while closing this scam application, a message pops up leading to third party ads.

Therefore, this is in no way official Facebook verification, it is simply a misleading Facebook Phishing scam application intended to grab personal information of users, post marketing stuff on their Facebook timeline, promote advertisements, invite their friends and get done surveys for free. Facebook users are advised not to believe in any such misleading phishing applications.

What if you have accessed the app already:

If you have already used this scam application to verify your Facebook account and are being mislead with its advertisements, postings and improper requests to your friends on Facebook, you can remove the complete activity of the app by simply deleting it from your Facebook profile. Go to your account settings, Apps, choose the app and then remove it from your Facebook profile.

Hoax or Fact:

Hoax.


Like it? Share with your friends!

115
1k share, 115 points

Comments 0

Announcement from Facebook Verification Team – Verify Your Profile Before 10th June 2012 – Facts Analysis