Messages circulating on Facebook claim that a Facebook user can follow the link mentioned to see everyone who views his or her profile.
Hoax or Fact:
It is not a fact, but a scam indeed.
These messages allure Facebook users to believe that they can click the link in the messages and find out who is viewing their Facebook profiles. But this is not a fact, these messages are spam intended to mislead Facebook users and scam them.
To catch the Facebook users attention, this message has been circulating in various forms enticing users to click the link that comes with the message. Typical messages looked like:
“I had n0 idea u could see everyone who view your pr@file. You guys are gr@ss!http://*****/****”
"OMG! Its unbeliveable now you can get to know who views your facebook profile.. i can see my top profile visitors and i am so shocked that my EX is still creeping my profile every hour..LINK"
You can see couple of screenshots of these messages in the image section below. These status updates were posted via various Facebook applications, in the names of “check who spy you”, “check who view u” etc. But it is important to note that the application can lead you to third party websites that may trick you to provide your personal information or even download spyware. This application when granted access requests you for a "verification test" with various links before showing who views your profile, and these links lead to third party websites employing various deceptive marketing tactics for gaining click activity like sign ups, surveys etc. The app does not show you who views your Facebook profile. Also, when users clicked the link in these messages and granted access permission, these messages of "see who views your pr@file" were posted automatically on their walls, along with the link to the application.
As per Facebook app policy, it is not legal to track who has viewed your profile, and so any app that makes such attempts will be blocked by Facebook soon. Therefore, Facebook users are advised not to follow the link or install the application. If you have already accessed the app, you can delete it by going to your Account Settings, Applications and then removing it from the list of your apps.
Facebook users must be very cautious while clicking third party links and giving access to unknown apps.