You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam


Picture about You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam
You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam

Story:

You are in this video? xD hahaha
[Link]

Other Versions

1. This is your video?
[Link]

2. OMG [user name] why are you in this vid?
[Link]

3. WTF! Is this you in the video?
[Link]

Picture about You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam
You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam
Picture about You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam
You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam

Analysis:

Facebook users have been receiving the aforementioned messages coming from their friends’ accounts, suggesting they are featured in a certain video. The message comes as a video related question and carries a link with the thumbnail image of the recipient, enticing him to click on it to open and see his video. Note, we have also seen some other cases, where such messages are also posted on Facebook timeline of the user, with titles like “My First Video,” “My Video,” or “Private Video,” as different Facebook users are tagged along. Beware of clicking the links in the messages, for they do not carry any such video of you as claimed, and are simply scams!

For a social media user on Facebook, it is quite natural to click on such personal messages or timeline posts sent by their friends. Scammers are exploiting this natural curiosity of Facebook users and have designed the aforementioned messages purporting to carry your video, while their sole purpose is to steal your Facebook account login details or trick you into installing malware. Do not click through the links that come with these messages on Facebook, for you can be tricked into giving away your Facebook login credentials with landing pages mimicking Facebook website (Phishing attempt). In some cases, you can be tricked into installing malware on your computer, saying you need to download a plugin to play the video you are featured in, or that you have to copy and paste a section of code into your browser’s address bar.

In reality, there is no such video you are featured in, the online criminals use the messages to spread their scam, and when you fall victim most of your friends can also be spammed with the same messages. Note that when you receive these scam messages from your Facebook friends, it means their accounts have already been compromised by criminals. You can intimate your Facebook friend about the scam and account compromise, and advise him to undo his recent Facebook activity that is suspicious, change his login credentials and run a system antivirus check. In case you have fallen victim, you can do the same and also inform your friends list of possible scam messages they might be receiving from your account. Do not click the links that come with the Facebook messages mentioned above, simply ignore and delete them.

Hoax or Fact:

Hoax and Scam.

Related Stories:

Huge Plane Crashes Into Bridge Video : Facebook Scam
Daily Motion Videos – Porn Attack on Facebook
‘Zeus Banking Trojan’ Virus Hits Facebook
She Did This Publicly in her High School – Facebook Scam

References:

Facebook virus alert! Online infection spreading rapidly on social media; Where you should not click?


Like it? Share with your friends!

0

Comments 0

You are in This Video Facebook Message Scam

log in

Don't have an account?
sign up

reset password

Back to
log in

sign up

Captcha!
Back to
log in