New Updated India Map After Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir: Fact Check

Image about New Updated India Map After Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir
Viral, inaccurate map of India


New Updated India Map from 31st Oct 2019, after Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir. Now we have 28 States and 9 Union Territories.

Other Versions


नये भारत का नया मानचित्र जो ‘एक भारत श्रेष्ठ भारत’ की झलक है #UnifiedIndia

Image of story on Facebook
Image of story on Facebook

Fact Check:

Pictures messages doing rounds on WhatsApp groups and Facebook allege to show the New Updated India Map after Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir State. Allegedly, the updated Indian map came into effect from 31st Oct 2019. Despite the claims, the bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir shown in the Indian map is not accurate.

Not the New Updated India Map

In early August 2019, Government of India announced the abrogation of Article 370, revoking Jammu & Kashmir’s special status and bifurcation of the State into 2 Union Territories (UTs). Consequently, the creation of UT of Jammu & Kashmir and the UT of Ladakh took place on 31st October 2019. A map of India allegedly showing the bifurcation started circulating on social media platforms since October ending. However, the map actually showed the old division of Jammu and Kashmir in almost equivalent parts.

The map appeared from Maps of India website – which in fact carried a note saying the boundaries are illustrative and they are awaiting changes on Government’s own websites and official notification. The viral map of India in fact showed wrong bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir.

India Map After Bifurcation of Jammu & Kashmir

On 2nd November 2019, the Government of India released the maps of newly created Union Territories (UTs) of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh, along with the map of India depicting these UTs. Overall, Survey General of India created the maps on 31st October 2019. Unlike what is shown in the viral map in circulation, UT Ladakh in fact takes much larger area than Jammu and Kashmir UT.

Union Minister of Development of North Eastern Region, Dr Jitendra Singh also shared the new Map of India on Twitter showing UTs Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh existing after 31st October 2019.

On the whole, the UT of Ladakh consists of two districts of Kargil and Leh. The Leh district of the new UT Ladakh includes the districts of Gilgit, Gilgit Wazarat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory of 1947, in addition to the remaining areas of Leh and Ladakh districts of 1947, after carving out the Kargil district. The UT of Jammu & Kashmir includes 22 districts of Kathua, Jammu, Samba, Udhampur, Doda, Kishtwar, Rajouri, Reasi, Ramban, Poonch, Kulgam, Shopian, Srinagar, Anantnag, Budgam, Pulwama, Ganderbal, Bandipora, Baramulla, Kupwara, Mirpur and Muzaffarabad.

Hoax or Fact:



Govt releases new political map of India showing UTs of J&K, Ladakh

Govt releases new map of India showing UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh

Like it? Share with your friends!