Facebook Account Phishing Scam – Facts Analysis


Picture about Facebook Account Phishing Scam
Facebook Account Phishing Scam

Story: 

Last Warning : Your account is reported to have violated the policies that are considered annoying or insulting Facebook users. Until we system will disable your account within 24 hours if you do not do the reconfirmation.

Please confirm your account below:

< Link >

Thanks.
The Facebook Team
Copyright facebook © 2011 Inc. All rights reserved.

Other Versions

Notification !!!!
YOUR ACCOUNT WILL DISABLE!!!Your Facebook account has been reported by others about. Using a fake name and you write offensive content (coarse). Using images of pornographic images and Disturbing other users or irritated.
Please re-confirm your account to avoid blocking. This is due to many hackers, violate our terms of service. If you are the original owner of this account, please re-confirm your account to avoid blocking. To complete the account page you can visit our FAQ page:
☞ < Link >
======================================
“Attention”
If you do not confirm, our system will automatically block your account and you will not be able to use it again.
Thanks for your cooperation to help improve our service.
The Facebook Team
© Facebook, Inc. 415 Department, PO Box 10005, Palo Alto, CA 94303

Picture about Facebook Account Phishing Scam
Facebook Account Phishing Scam

Analysis:

Email message supposed to be from Facebook claims that the recipient’s Facebook is reported for annoying or insulting other users and therefore will be disabled if he or she does not confirm the account details within 24 hours. Many Facebook users receive such phishing email messages saying that their Facebook account has been reported for policy violations, annoying or insulting other Facebook users. The user is instructed to reconfirm his account by following a link in the message, and also says that the account will be disabled if he does not confirm his account within 24 hours.

Picture about Facebook Account Phishing Scam
Facebook Account Phishing Scam

The email message is definitely NOT from Facebook, but a phishing scam designed to hack the Facebook account and webmail login details of users, along with their credit card and personal information. If you receive any such message, please do not click any links inside it. If you are doing that, you are giving away your personal and financial information to cyber criminals. People who fell for these phishing email trick were first taken to a fake Facebook account disable web form asking for the login details and part of their credit card number. Once submitted, the users were taken to a second form asking for webmail login details. Lastly, they were taken to a third fake form that asks for username and the first 6 digits of their credit card number.

This way the email scammers can easily hijack the user’s real Facebook account by phishing scams and pose significant threat to the users, including their Facebook friends. So, be very careful when you receive any such Facebook phishing email messages, which ask you to follow a link. It is always better to login to your Facebook account directly from your web browser, rather than following such links in messages or unknown chat conversations.

Hoax or Fact:

Hoax.

Related Stories:

Announcement from Facebook Verification Team – Verify Your Profile
New Hackers on Facebook Posting Insulting, Sexual Content
‘Zeus Banking Trojan’ Virus Hits Facebook
Get Certified – Facebook Certification Application

Comments 0

Facebook Account Phishing Scam – Facts Analysis